Etiquette on Fitting Rooms

Whether you like it or not, we have all gone shopping for clothes. No matter what store you go to, it is not unlikely that you will come across a cluttered fitting room – especially if it’s the weekend. As an employee in the clothing department, weekends are the most stressful. At my job, freight comes in on Saturdays, so it can be a challenge trying to help customers, keep the department clean, and get freight out of the warehouse.

You don’t know how many clothes people really try on until you work in the clothing department and have to clean out the fitting rooms. The amount of jeans I get to refold and shirts I get to rehang on hangers is insane. Most days I walk in to clean out the fitting rooms and find that the customers have at least attempted to refold and compile their misfitting clothes, but there’s always a day or two once in awhile where people seem to be less considerate. On these days, clothes will be inside out and folded as many times as physically possible. I always appreciate those customers who at least attempt to fold the clothes they don’t end up buying. That little effort goes a long way, especially during the more difficult days.

Another thing I have run into when putting new freight onto the sales floor is customers who come and go through the merchandise on my cart before I have a chance to put it on the fixtures. If you tend to be one of those customers, do your best to refrain from doing this until the merchandise is on the fixtures. We can’t put it on the fixtures if you are constantly looking through it. I will admit, sometimes the racks will sit there for a bit either because we got distracted while we were putting it out or we got pulled away to help another customer. All in all, fitting room and department neatness is a two way street. Common courtesy goes a long way and is very much appreciated.

1 thought on “Etiquette on Fitting Rooms

  1. Very interesting post. I like you to share your working experience. I didn’t know how mass the fitting room is. Nobody likes the customer through the clothes on the ground. From your post, I can know a little more about how is like working in the clothing department.

    Like

Leave a comment